Solar Terms

Solar terms refer to the twenty-four seasons and climate. It is a supplementary calendar established in ancient China to guide farming. It is the crystallization of the accumulated achievements and wisdom of the long-term experience of the working people of the Chinese nation.

Since ancient China was an agricultural society, agriculture needed to strictly understand the operation of the sun, and the farming was carried out entirely according to the sun. Therefore, the “Twenty-four solar terms”, which separately reflected the solar cycle, were added to the calendar to be used as the standard for determining the moon.

China’s orthodox twenty-four solar terms are based in Henan. The Chinese lunar calendar is a kind of yin and yang, which is based on the sun and the operation of the moon. Therefore, the addition of the 24 solar terms can better reflect the cycle of the sun.

The 24 solar terms are: spring, rain, horror, vernal equinox, Qingming, Guyu, Lixia, Xiaoman, Mang, Xiazhi, Xiaoshu, Dashu, Liqiu, Shizhu, Bailu, Qiuji, Hanlu, frost, Lidong, Xiaoxue, heavy snow, winter solstice, Xiaohan Great cold

On November 30, 2016, China’s “Twenty-Four Seasons” was officially included in the UNESCO List of Representatives of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity.

heavy snow